Serious

Things were never too serious.
Why couldn’t I see?
I lived off the illusion that you could be with only me.
I saw something inside you, just a little spark that told me that others didn’t know your heart.
I chose not to believe them.
I thought it could be true.
I wanted to see the flame that burned within you.
I fought to be beside you.
I fought so hard.
I scratched and clawed my way into your arms.
For a second I was in your castle, encased in your walls.
But as the wind shifted, the bricks started to fall.
There I was left standing, alone in your mess.
If only fairytales weren’t so well-dressed.

One comment

  1. Lilly · June 9, 2016

    Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

